And the Winners Are…

This morning the winners of the most prestigious awards in children’s literature were announced.

This year’s recipient of the Newbery Medal is:

ivanThe One and Only Ivan written by Katherine Applegate




And the recipient of the Caldecott Medal is:

not my hatThis Is Not My Hat Illustrated and written by John Klassen



I watched the winners announced on the American Library Association’s live webcast of their Midwinter Conference, which was held in Seattle this year. For anyone as interested in children’s literature as I am, this awards ceremony, while perhaps a little under the radar and less glitzy, is like the Academy Awards for the book community–it’s that big of a deal!! So, for those of you who may not know the significance of each award, please read on for a brief overview of each medal.

newbery medalThe Newbery Medal was named for 18th century British bookseller John Newbery, and has been awarded annually since 1922, thus, this award has the honor of being the first children’s book award in the world. The Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the “most distinguished American children’s book published the previous year.” ** This year’s winner, The One and Only Ivan joins the ranks of such esteemed titles as Holes, Walk Two Moons, The Giver, and The Bridge to Terabithia to name just a few.

newbery honorThe 2013 Newbery Honor Books are: Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schiltz, Bomb: The Race to Build-and Steal-the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin, and Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage.


caldecott medalThe Caldecott Medal was named for 19th century illustrator Randolph Caldecott and is awarded annually to the illustrator of the “most distinguished American picture book for children” published in the previous year. ** This year, 2013, marks the 75th Anniversary of this very special award. This year’s winner, This Is Not My Hat, will join such illustrious past winners as A Sick Day for Amos McGeeThe Invention of Hugo CabretThe Polar Express, and The Snowy Day, again to name just a few.

caldecott honorThe 2013 Caldecott Honor Books are: Creepy Carrots! illustrated by Peter Brown and written by Aaron Reynolds, Extra Yarn illustrated by Jon Klassen (also this year’s winner!) and written by Mac Barnett, Green illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger, One Cool Friend illustrated by David Small and written by Toni Buzzeo, and Sleep Like a Tiger illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski and written by Mary Logue.

I encourage you to take some time to read all of these wonderful books if you haven’t already. You can find these titles in our store in the 2013 winners and honors display, as well as our Newbery and Caldecott sections where you can always find past winners. Finally, a big congratulations to all winners (past and present)–thank you for making such wonderful children’s books!!

**Thanks to the American Library Association for the information (not to mention for selecting the winners). If you would like to find out more, please check out their website at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s